Paralympic body establishes district committees – Capital Radio Malawi
23 May, 2024

Paralympic body establishes district committees

Newly elected committee in Zomba

The Malawi Paralympic Committee (MPC) has started establishing subordinate committees at district level.

About twelve districts have been targeted in the first phase of the project.

According to MPC’s vice president Joseph Galanje, underground work has already started in the districts of Rumphi, Kasungu, Salima, Zomba, Chiradzuru and Mulanje.

So far, Zomba and Chiradzuru are the first districts to have already established their committees.

Speaking after elections in the two southern region districts, Galanje said; “this is an ambitious project which we have started and we believe it will help us to reach out to as many athletes as possible with our programmes in the districts.”

The vice president further called upon the newly elected district committee members to work according to the constitution of the parent committee.

On her part, sports officer for Zomba district, Sophie Mzunga, commended the establishment of the committees.

“What MPC has done is very commendable and I would like to assure that we will support the new committee so that together we can promote parasport,” she said.

In Zomba, Rashid Alli Taimu has been elected chairperson and will be deputised by Yusuf Msosa whereas Maggie Makupe and Albert Simbani will be serving as secretary and vice respectively.

Bester Banda is the treasure while Tionge Gondwe and Joyce Phiri are committee members.

In Chiradzuru, Thokozani Kanyong’o and Precius James are chairperson and deputy respectively while Violet Mataka is the secretary and her deputy is Thokosani Kabambe.

Their treasure is Annie Chikwasa while committee members are Dorcus Mng’oma and Francis Luka.

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *