May 25, 2018 Last Updated 8:55 AM, May 25, 2018


JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 64

JFile: :read: Unable to open file:

Malawi President names full cabinet

Malawi President Peter Mutharika Malawi President Peter Mutharika
Published in Capital News
Read 26990 times
Rate this item
(2 votes)

Malawi President Peter Mutharika has finally finished naming his 20 member cabinet, which include leader of an opposition political party.

President Mutharika is Minister of defence and Commander-in- Chief of the Malawi Defence Force and The Malawi Police Services.

Vice President Saulos Klaus Chilima will double as Minister responsible for the Civil Service.

Joseph Mwanamvekha, a lawmaker, will head the ministry of Trade and Industry, while Minister of Gender, Children, Disability and Social Welfare is Patricia Anne Kaliati a legislator too.

New Minister of Natural Resources, Energy and Mining is leader of the opposition United Democratic Front (UDF) Atupele Austin Muluzi. He is also an MP.

Former secretary to the Government, Bright Msaka will head ministry  of Lands, Housing and Urban Development, with Paul Chibingu (MP) as Minister of Home Affairs, and  Trasizio Thom Gowelo (MP) as Minister of Local Government and Rural Development. 

There are two deputy ministers who are also lawmakers, Jappie Mhango at the ministry of Defence with Vincent Ghambi named as deputy minister of education, Science and Technology.

Prior to the latest appointments, ten ministers were serving the Mutharika government with nine of those only appointed last week. 

They included Goodall Gondwe as minister of finance, economic planning and development, Dr Allan Chiyembekeza as minister of Agriculture ,Dr Emmanuel Fabiano as minister of education, Science and Technology, Francis Lazaro Kasaila as minister of transport and public works, George Chaponda minister of foreign affairs and Kondwani Nankhumwa minister of information, tourism and civic eduction, Dr Jean Alfazema Kalilani as minister of health, Samuel Bason Tembenu minister of justice , Henry Mussa as minister of labour and Grace Obama Chiumia as minister of sports and youth development.

The new cabinet ministers were expected to be sworn in on Monday in Lilongwe, according to a statement from the Office of the President and Cabinet.

Meanwhile, gender activists have expressed disappointment with the appointment of just three female ministers in the Peter Mutharika's 20 member cabinet.

Last modified on Monday, 23 June 2014 12:03


Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated.Basic HTML code is allowed.

Capital Tweets

Any data to display

Find Us on Facebook