Jul 21, 2018 Last Updated 1:53 PM, Jul 20, 2018


JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 64

JFile: :read: Unable to open file:

DPP MPs swell in Parliament

Published in Capital News
Read 23988 times
Rate this item
(0 votes)

The number of the ruling Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) lawmakers have increased in Parliament after 19 independent legislators announced joining the party.

They include Allan Ngumuya  of  Blantyre City South,  Rashid Gaffer – of Blantyre City Kabula,  Peter Hamilton Bvalani of Zomba Likangala, Daudi Chida of  Mulanje Limbuli, Sam Ganda – Nsanje Lalanje, Willet Karonga – Chiradzulu North, Gab Khamisa – Thyolo Central, Mary Maulidi Khembo – Neno South, Emmanuel Lozo – Neno North, Naomi Maleso Akilekwa - Mulanje South East, Mary Livuza – Phalombe South

Others include, Amos Mailosi – Phalombe East, Victor Musowa – Mulanje Bare, Aboo McNice Naliwa – Zomba Msondole, Denis Namachekecha – Phalombe North East, Muhammad Osman (OG Issa) – Chiradzulu Central,  McJay Salijeni – Thyolo South, Lyana Lexa Tambala – Mulanje North and Roger Sithole – Kasungu North – North East.

DPP now has 69 Members of Parliament.

Four other Independent candidates have joined Malawi Congress Party (MCP), which makes MCP MPs clinching 52. They include Collins Kajawa – Lilongwe Mpenu, Peter Chakwantha – Lilongwe South West, Peter Dimba – Lilongwe South and Elias Chakwera – Dowa Ngala.

According to Speaker of the National Assembly, Richard Msowoya, the legislators claim to have made the switch upon consultations with their constituents.

The MPs claim the decision is in the best interest of the people.

But commentators have warned against defections saying it could see the country retrogressing to a one party state.

Chancellor College Associate Professor of law, Edge Kanyongolo, says the development defeats the essence of providing checks and balances.

Initially, independent MPs outclassed parties during the May 20 general elections scooping 52 seats seconded by DPP with 50 and MCP with 48.


  • Comment Link SEO SEO Saturday, 21 July 2018 11:12

    Rattling good information can be found on weblog.

  • Comment Link SEO CANADA SEO CANADA Saturday, 21 July 2018 00:56

    The thing that All people Ought To Know Involving E commerce, Modify that E commerce in to a full-blown Goldmine

  • Comment Link SEO SEO Friday, 20 July 2018 22:26

    Wonderful work! That is the type of info that should be shared across the web. Shame on Google for no longer positioning this put up higher! Come on over and seek advice from my website. Thank you =)

  • Comment Link SEO SEO Friday, 20 July 2018 19:50

    You have made some good points there. I checked on the web for more info about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on this site.

  • Comment Link Epifania Epifania Friday, 20 July 2018 14:41

    Hey would you mind letting me know which web host you're working with?
    I've loaded your blog in 3 completely different internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most.
    Can you suggest a good web hosting provider at a honest price?
    Thank you, I appreciate it!

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated.Basic HTML code is allowed.

Capital Tweets

Any data to display

Find Us on Facebook